01285 770758 (Phone)
Documents

Thames Head Pumping Station on the Thames and Severn Canal 1828

Places & Landscapes Uploaded on September 20, 2022

This is from the frontispiece of Picturesque Tour of the River Thames by William Westall and Samuel Owen, published in 1828. The building is the second pump house containing a Boulton and Watt single acting beam steam engine used from 1792 to 1854. This seems to be taken from the bridge taking the Fosse Way (A433) over the Thames and Severn Canal.
As with the Richardson print we are looking east and can see the spire of Kemble Church but in addition we can see Kemble Windmill.